Unemployment

Standard

This isn’t my husband but if the sign fits… As it turns out, my husband is job hunting. Don’t get me wrong- we’re grateful for the job he has but while kosher supervision is necessary and puts food on the table (pun intended), he doesn’t want it to be his future.

So now you know. If you’re my facebook friend and now you’ve found my blog, don’t be offended to find out this way! We’re real friends and not just the facebook kind (probably!) but I’m not the greatest “networker” and tend to be private- despite this very public appearance.

My husband, Daniel, got his degree in Finance from YU and is taking graduate-level classes in Finance at UCSD. If you hear of a job opportunity, I’d so appreciate you thinking of him and dropping me a message. It’s tough out there! For more on that and this blog, read this.

As I said before, I like my privacy and in that vein, blogs leave bloggers…exposed! Plus what can I contribute? There are some incredible Jewish blogs out there. I love this blog for recipes and great food pictures. I love this blog for scarf inspiration to beautify the mitzvah of covering a married Jewish woman’s hair. I like many Torah-based blogs for thought-provoking articles. So, why/how should I write a unique blog?

No two people are alike and all I have are my personal experiences. Truth is, this blog is for me- this is a year of transition and challenge and I’d like to document it to look back on because I have faith that God will get us through this.

A-journey-of-a-thousand-miles

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. These are wise words but the Jews put it differently: Rabbi Tarfon (Pirkei Avos 2:16) said  “It is not incumbent on you to finish the work – but neither are you free to absolve yourself from it!” With that in mind, I enter the blogosphere with every intention to come and no plans to stay. Take your shoes off, put your feet up, and make yourself at home! Mi blog es su blog and I welcome anyone’s feedback.

4 responses »

  1. Rachel, Has your husband ever considered a career in actuarial science? I personally find it to be a very good career and perhaps it is a route your husband may wish to consider.

    If you want he could check out http://www.beanactuary.org/ or message me if you want more info. I’ve been working in the field for about 7 1/2 yrs

    All the best and good luck with the job search.

Leave a Reply

